Voice Health and Dryness

Hi there! We live in an extremely dry area of the country. Winter in Colorado is even more dry than the summer and this is a gargantuan problem for singers!! I am from the northeast, upstate New York, and we do not have this problem. The humidity can sometime be stifling, but it is great for the voice.

One thing you can do to combat this problem is to get a cold air humidifier, the warm ones may help breed bacteria and that is a no bueno! This is particularly important while you are sleeping, so I recommend keeping it in the bedroom. If you don’t have a humidifier, leave a pot of water in your room at night.

Besides teaching voice and piano

Paul Perry, Voice and Piano Instructor, The Lesson Studio

Paul Perry, Voice/Piano Instructor

in Boulder at The Lesson Studio, I also teach yoga. One form of yoga that I teach is Bikram-style and this is one reason why I think my voice feels relatively hydrated during winter and I avoid being sick, at least I avoid on going illness. The room I teach in is at least 105 degrees and 70% humidity. I would recommend this practice to anyone trying to keep the voice healthy and happy. It is also a wonderful way to detox the body and fight off illness. Of course, talk to your doctor before beginning any exercise program. 🙂

Stay warm and find humidity somewhere!

~Peace~

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

